This iz the quiet storm baybuh.
Ok, I guess I'm going to get around to finally piecing back together what happened last Tuesday. Let me check to make sure the link finally works first...While I'm doing that, here's something for you to think about that I already did ...think about. For you.

When someone passes away the news never fails to mention that 'they passed away quietly." They never say anything about the guys who pass away loudly.

"And finally in the news an overzealous hockey fan jumped the glass wall and ran onto the ice where he was mowed down by an out of control zambone, then dragged from one end of the rink to the other. He passed away loudly."

Ok, the link that I had wouldn't work so you will have to do a little clicking from

here.

Then click the link for movies/sponsoring. THEN click for the movie that says

Download TV-Spot - K-fee Auto (MPG-Datei, ca.0,72 MB)

-

-

-

-

-

-

Ok, when you've finished waiting for the download. If you used dial up it will be well into the next century. If you used cable, then you should have a nice load in your trousers.

Yeeehawww! Guess what! That was the last thing I saw Tuesday...right, and I mean right before lightning struck and blew out the power in my neighborhood. Pitch black apartment with THAT image in my head. Oh good the storm is here now.

A little before it got here I had the presence of mind to download this ominous picture.

I think my exact words were "burgaflicka!" (And hey, why is Louisiana always giving Florida the finger?)

Anyway, dark. No light. Storm raging. Where's the damn flashlight?

"Mickey? Watch out cause I'm moving to.."

"Meouch!"

"Well MOVE THE HELL OUT OF THE WAY! YOU'RE A BLACK CAT, HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO SEE YOU?"

"...Meowsshole...."

So I make my way to the front door and open it. GILLIGAN! BATTEN DOWN THE HATCHES! I needed to mop the front walkway anyway. Forgetting the open front door I walk to the opposite patio door and slide it open and well...ahem, have you ever had to open a can with one of those church keys? You know, you punch that little triangle sized hole in one side of the can, but you have to punch another on the opposite side to relieve the pressure and let in more air to displace the contents of the... you know in order for stuff to come out you need to allow a way for air to rush.....Basically having both doors open allowed the storm a much simpler access through the apartment building THROUGH MY LIVING ROOM. I quite felt like I was going to be sucked out to the swimming pool below.

So there's not much to do you know, when the lights go out. No TV, no computer, no radio. Oh the phone worked the last time there was a blackout.

Yea!

No.

Phone out too. I guess the storm knocked out the butane plant too. So I sat outside and tried to take pictures of lightning. It looked like a strobe light was going off there was so much going on.

I got nothin'.

So what does a guy do when there's no one to talk to and the power is out?

I went to Taco Bell.

Thinking that by the time I got back the lights might be back on. Oh and by the way the storm had pretty much petered itself out by this time. I'm not a crazy drive-in-any-kind-of-weather-to-get-to-Taco-Bell kind of guy.

So I get back home and still no electricity. I found some candles and my battery powered radio and tune into the "Lovelines" radio show. But the storm must have done something to the radio towers because just as Adam was gearing up to some kind of awesome rant tangent about politics or clitoruses..(clitori?)The station kept fuzzing out to some R&B station and soon I was eating my burrito to the smoove mellow sounds of 105 'dot' 3....

" You're listening to the quiet storm baayybee."

" Ooooh yea. Sit back and let yourself mellow out baaaaybeee."

I began to feel ridiculous eating tacos in candlelight with a pseudo Barry White DJ.

Enough of this crap! Where's the power? Where's the light? I'm going nuts!

Am I really this boring? That even I am so bored I'd rather wash out the thoughts in my head with TV or radio?

But eventually the power did come back on, and eventually I did get to ignore myself once again. And eventually the phone did ring and it was Karen. So all ended well here.

Well except for the 250,000 people who still didn't have any electricity this past Friday morning.

Yea, it was quite a storm.

A quiet storm baybeee.. ooooo yeaaaaasssss. Yoooooou gonnaaaaaa ....... eat the res' a them tacos?

Sunday, Jun. 06, 2004 4:21 A.M.



On the I-tunes: "Drums a go-go".......HOLLYWOOD PERSUADERS

| 5 old comments

old gripes|griping now|new gripes

This diary is lame. - Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009
woah - Thursday, Feb. 05, 2009
operation kindness - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
more belligerent bees on dogs - Monday, Feb. 20, 2006
teste-moanial - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006




join and get notified:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com