suicidal refrigerator
Speaking of Refrigerators....there was an end to an epic saga last week involving my refrigerator. It was broken.......again. For the fourth week IN A ROW the freezer keeps things nicely frozen and the bottom part keeps things nicely warm.

Let's go back four weeks shall we.

I notice the start of warmetude by pulling out a semi cool drink out and realize everything else in the bottom is a botulism festival. OOOOOOOOOOOK I'll call the apartment office in the morning when I get to work to ask them to fix it. When I get home as soon as I open the door I hear "maintenance is here!" and theres the fixit guy in the kitchen. Too bad he didnt have a home dentistry kit since he had zero upper teeth. He had a weird amish look to him with one of those beards that only cover the lower jaw and no upper beard. Ok whatever, he's here to fix my shit so I dont care what he looks like. I ask Cecil what he thinks is the problem and he says that the coil is frozen up. I look in the freezer and see hes taken the back off. Yep solid ice back there. So his solution to the problem is to stand in front of the fridge with the door open defrosting the coils. Ok, he's going to have to get a part or something to fix it but he has to thaw everything out first. An our later he decides he's stood in front of the fridge long enough and calls it a day. He'll be back tomorrow with the new part to check on it. Fridge is fine the next day and he declares it fixed.

Sunday rolls around and we're to warm bottom again. Allllllllllright. Monday I call the apartment office and tell them it isn't working again and that it needs to be fixed ...... again. Nice and polite. I get home from work and this time Clem isnt there but his helper is. I can tell this isn't going to go well from the moment I discover he doesn't speak English well. Great. He's got the freezer open and he's peering inside and looking at me. Then he hands me a frozen ice tray as if to say look, "It work fine idiot" and I open the bottom half and show that "look it not work fine idiot" On now he sees and he fiddles around for Five minutes and says he has to "go get tools." Allllllright fine you do that. He comes back ten minutes later with Jebidiah who bickers with him for a bit before they settle into the standing in front of the open freezer technique. An hour later we reach the "I'll be back to check on it tomorrow " phase. Fine.

The third Sunday rolls around. Again I have a fridge full of ptomaine poisoned chickenell porklets.

Yay. I get to call the office again on Monday. This time when I call, the woman tells me I'm gonna have to start filling out maintenance request forms when I have a problem so they have documentation on things. FINE BY ME! When I get home from work this day I go to the fridge and see that its nice and cold again. Theres a hand written note on the counter. I've lost the attachment but it was some strange garbled english that said he "fixed my refridge and it sounded like he called me tomwoy, I think he meant he would be back tomorrow. (of course) I guess making fun of his English skills is a little mean. At least he's semi bi-lingual. I can barely type this and I cant fix a refridge at all. But I can figure out that defrosting the fridge isn't fixing it. A week later I'm going to have to call the office AGAIN and they're going to send Juan Chang in from the bull pen. But I'll probably have to go down first and fill out the neccesary forms. While I'm there I might as well pick up 52 of the suckers since this appears that this is going to be a weekly gig. I'm also going to insist on

signing a D.N.R. order for my fridge after this next repair.

(note: they eventually got me a new one and for some reason put all the food that should have been thrown away from the old fridge into the new one. I even had stuff that didn't belong in the fridge in there. wha' tha' fu' ?)

This diary is lame. - Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009
woah - Thursday, Feb. 05, 2009
operation kindness - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
more belligerent bees on dogs - Monday, Feb. 20, 2006
teste-moanial - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006




join and get notified:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com