We dont need no tek-naw-lo-gee!!!
Tonight I'm meeting my friends for coffee at I-hop. Yes we STILL do this just about every thursday. We still do this because it's abou the only time we ever see each other. everyone is either married or moved away or doing something equally important to their lives. It's just us guys and occasionaly one of the female members of the old days will show up. What we usually talk about is just things guys talk about when they get together. Tits, Cars and computers. Usually in that order but not always. The Simpsons will always make an appearance too. We also talk about our work. Paul is a medical technologist at a childrens hospital. Kevin blows glass and has his own hotshop. I work at a graphic arts company. Briece, well we don't exactly know what Briece is gonna do when he grows up. There's also a running tally on making people snork coffee out of their nose by saying something cunningly funny when they have a mouthful. Havn't been in about a month, just been too busy at work or sleeping, it's always about 11 before we go. Everyone's work schedule is so screwed up, but thats when we go. Since the late eighty's, we do this every damn week. And you know, it never gets old. I never feel like I'm too old to do I-hop at 1 AM, (or Denny's at 4AM if you're a Wally Pleasant fan. HA!) Its just, fun. I don't know. I suppose we'll end up the old shit's sitting there playing dominoes around a pot belly stove drinkin' coffee and spittin on the floor talking 'bout the old days.

[In a high whiny dana Carvey voice]

"When I was a kid we didn't have no flame retaaaaardant sleepweeeeeear! In my day if you fell asleep smoking you woke up engulfed in flames! And we didn't have any of that fancy schmancy tech-naw-lo-gee or Videoooo games. We played games with the stuff we found around the yard!!! We used to play a game called 'chew the bark off the tree!!' and It gave us all kinds of gum diseases and we were fine with it! We liked it juuuuuuust fine! We had a game called staaaaaare at the sun, and we'd lay on the ground and just stare at the sun until our eyes BURST into flames! And we loved it! Why I don't know whats wrong with people these days. You got it all eeeeeeasy and everything is saaaaaaaaaafe and clean with no cholera to speak of. Why we didn't have any of those fancy 'seatbelts'. In my day if you were driving too fast and ya hit a tree you knew right where you were going, THROUGH THE WINDSHEILD!!!!

We were just a bunch of ignorant morons staring at the sun with flamin' peejamas, chewin' on trees with our big bloody pyorrhea mouths ! And we loved it just fine!!!!

Yes thats how we are gonna end up I'm afraid. You will too. I think it's inevitable. You're welcome to come along if you want. I'm tired of making these guys spit coffee at me, I need some new blood.

Thursday, Jan. 15, 2004 6:21 P.M.



I'm hearing : "Big in Japan" -----by TOM WAITS!

I'm eating ; tree bark

I want : flame retardant sleepwear

| 3 old comments

old gripes|griping now|new gripes

This diary is lame. - Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009
woah - Thursday, Feb. 05, 2009
operation kindness - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
more belligerent bees on dogs - Monday, Feb. 20, 2006
teste-moanial - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006




join and get notified:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com