Have you hugged your pet today?
I'm sorry , I had to write this down after cruising back home from T and A's house.

(Yes, their names are TITS and ASS.)

They live in the middle of Bum fucking Guam so it's very dark on the way home. A very very rural place so It's a good place for Halloween to take place. In fact, thats where the best Halloween party we ever had was held. We started planning it in August right up to Halloween night. I even took off the whole week of Halloween.(I guess I do still have things to talk about. Some other time though.)

Creeping up in the long line of cars out of Maybury, I can see that we have to merge to the right, The strobe of bright blue and red lights shows a police car in the left lane under the bridge.

"What has some idiot done now? Gotten himself pulled over for drunk driving?

As I get closer, I start to look for the other car in front. I don't see any other cars.

I pass the squad car.

Illuminated in the beams of the headlights is the reason for the stop.

Laying in the middle of the road with his head up.

Bright white fur glowing in the lights.

A red stained flank.

Blood filled eyes staring blindly at the line of cars slowly passing by, gaping mouth panting last breaths.

As I pass, I look in my rearview mirror, see the dog slowly and weakly lay its head on the road to wait for the end.

I can stomach a lot of things without flinching.

Animals dying in the middle of the road without a loved one near isn't one of those things. There aren't good enough words in my vocabulary to express how I felt at the time. Or I don't know how to arrange them so they resemble how I felt.

It was just a dog. Right?

Just a stray dog.

Or maybe someone's best friend, who didn't know where he was.

My heart wanted to hug you till the end came. It would have been the very least, gentle act, any human could do.

I'm sorry your last night was celebrated with fireworks.

Monday, Jul. 05, 2004 1:29 A.M.



On the itunes: "Picture in a frame"...T. Waits

| 4 old comments

old gripes|griping now|new gripes

This diary is lame. - Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2009
woah - Thursday, Feb. 05, 2009
operation kindness - Thursday, Apr. 20, 2006
more belligerent bees on dogs - Monday, Feb. 20, 2006
teste-moanial - Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006




join and get notified:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com